Nick Zampano

New from CT

Rate this topic:

55 posts in this topic

Hows it going everyone,
My name is Nick 23 years old from CT and am trying to get into linework. I have always had interest in the trade and recently have decided I am going to do all I can to get started in the industry. I have no electrical experience. I am good laborer and a hard worker and I currently work as a roofer during the day and a repo agent at night, so I have no problem doing hard labor and working hard, long hours. I have an appointment tommorow morning to register for classes to obtain a class a cdl. My cdl should be completed by mid september as I qualified for an accelerated program due my repo and towtruck experience. I figured this site would be good for me to get advice and help to be pointed in the right direction. I am looking more into trying to get into a utility(in ct, mass, or RI) because I would rather not travel, but I am open to anything obviously you can't be picky when getting your foot in the door. Once i have my cdl i can apply for the NEAT apprenticeship, and in the spring I plan to apply to the CL&P internship through Middlesex Comm college. The only problem with that is that i have bills and paying for school/going to school for 2 years fulltime may not be realistic, but i am still planning to look into it. In the meantime, i apply to any and all openings within the utilities in CT even on the gas side just to get my foot in the door. I also have been watching for openings with national grid as my fiance is from Rhode Island so moving that direction is an option as well. I am just on here looking for advice so if theres anything else I should be doing to better my chances please let me know. I will definitely be getting use out of this site as I am determined to reach my goal. I am looking forward to hearing from you all

thank you,
Nick

Welcome to the site!

Good to see another guy from Connecticut here!